RSS

Half Way to 90

20 May

I’m at the threshold of yet another new stage in my life. In just a few short days I will be 45 – or as my lovely daughter, B, likes to point out I will be half of the way to 90. Aren’t kids great? On my next birthday in addition to being 45 years old, I will also join the Empty Nest club. B is moving to Italy to be with her husband, J. For most of my adult life I’ve either been a wife, wife and mom, or mom. Over the past year I’ve been making the transition from being the mom of a teenager to being the mom of an adult child. Now I’m going to be the mom of an adult child who is 7,000 miles away.

For the first time in my life I will be living alone. Well, I will still have 4 cats at home but I’ll be the only human living in my house. It’s going to be really strange, and quite possibly a little bit lonely at times. I have to admit that I’m looking forward to seeing what’s next.

While I was in nursing school I kept telling myself that if I managed to finish I would buy myself a new car. On May 9th, one year after my pinning ceremony I made good on my promise. It’s part delayed reward, part birthday present, and part embracing my empty nest status. I bought a mostly impractical but incredibly cute car!

As long as Godzilla doesn’t eat it I think I’ll be just fine as I drive into my new chapter.

 
 

Tags: , ,

Leave a comment