RSS

A Quick Reply Isn’t Enough – To “Snobby Nurse”

15 Jan

My little tiny corner of the internet is a humble and not very visited place. Or at least it wasn’t until I penned a vent/rant about a chance encounter with another nurse at a local Starbucks. That one post has, in less than two days, had just shy of 1,000 views. That’s pretty amazing to me, since my previous best post was 140 views.  I’m told that it really made the rounds on Facebook. I didn’t really know how far it had traveled and how widely it had spread because I was, as night shift nurses are so fond of doing, sleeping during the day yesterday and working all last night.

In a moment that proves just how small the internet manages to make our world I got a response to my blog post from the nurse with whom I had the encounter. At first I read her words and I thought of just posting a quick reply to her comment … but then I realized there is no way conceivable in which that is an appropriate response to her kind words. So instead I’m going to re-post her comment here along with my reply to her. I can only hope that this garners as much response as my original vent, because it should. It was one of those moments that makes you stop and realize that there is a glimmer of hope in humanity and that “Snobby Nurse” is really a class act.

Her comment:

I am so sorry that you obtained so much from our brief encounter. I’m sorry we didn’t get to go through a proper introduction. I, too was a Lpn for 10 years before getting said RN degree. Maybe I came off rude & for that I am sorry. I did not mean anything as you took it. I was running late for my nightshift & I just cut the conversation short w/out thinking how it affected you. I am not a snob, just started the nightshift & had barely had any sleep. I have also worked in long term care w/some amazing CNAs & LPNs, I have total respect for all they do. I figured out that long term care was not for me. I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to offend you..in my experience in long term care I never saw a RN doing any type of “dirty work” (just goes to show, I too have worked w/some “snobby” RNs who thought they were too good for that) I have cleaned & changed people from the nursing home, placed catheters, changed beds, & held buckets while people vomit. I did not mean to come across like I am disgusted by those things, just the fact that I don’t do it every day as in a long term setting. It is for some people, I tried it…not for me. I admire you & by no means meant any offense to you. When I saw this post shared on a friends wall & read it I was mortified. I am truly sorry. Shall we meet again I will apologize in person & maybe we can call truce. Looking back on conversation, I was short & came across wrong. Truly sorry!

Here is my reply:

Dear Fellow Tired Nurse (formerly “Snobby Nurse”)

I would like to accept your apology, but only if you in turn will accept mine.

I suppose I am a bit overly sensitive on the subject of my job. As I mentioned in my original post, I am a bit burnt out – in fact I think I am a lot burnt out. To the point of questioning why I do what I do and if I made a mistake by getting a degree in nursing as opposed to Art History or Accounting. I’ve been told by some well-meaning friends that now that I’ve been in the long-term care setting as a Registered Nurse I may, in fact, be stuck in long-term care for … well … the long-term. Basically that once you’re a long-term care nurse (particularly as a RN) you’re pretty much stuck in long-term care because hospital hiring managers and DONs won’t take you seriously. Since I’m hoping to work in several different fields of nursing over the course of my career, this is disheartening (but seemingly accurate) news. My frustration over that isn’t usually far from the surface – in large part because questions about my career choices aren’t far from the surface.

As a result of those words from my friends and my own doubts I was more than a bit thin-skinned to your comments. I can also say without a shadow of doubt that my own long night shifts, sleepless days, and chronic sleep deprivation certainly don’t combine to make me any less sensitive, or apparently objective.

So for my part in the misunderstanding that was our brief encounter, I am very sorry.

I would like to thank you for taking the time to respond to me, and for doing it so kindly. I realize that many would have taken my words and tone as an invitation to be as snarky as I was. That you didn’t respond with anger or sarcasm speaks volumes about you. I misjudged you, and for that I also apologize.

I hope that by sharing your comment and my response in its own blog post that I can underscore how sorry I am for my knee-jerk reaction. But also I hope in some small way to repair your “reputation” (even if only you know who you are).

Should we ever have the opportunity to meet again, I would very much like to buy your coffee (with as many espresso shots as you need).

Wishing you all of the best – with my deepest thanks and most sincere apologies,

Carole

 
 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “A Quick Reply Isn’t Enough – To “Snobby Nurse”

  1. Rude nurse

    January 15, 2014 at 10:29 am

    You a very good writer 😉 thank you! I think what hit the hardest is the fact that I made that brief encounter make you feel “less than” or “minor” for what you do & that Is in no way true! I love the fast pace of the ER (IVs, drawing blood, EKGs, code blues, pushing meds) I have worked school nursing, med surg, home health, longterm, etc. I use to be one of those LPNs that was bitter because of the way people disrespected the title! I NEVER wanted to be considered a “snobby nurse” because I too have many Lpn friends whom I love & admire 🙂 thanks so much for the apology, I am just glad you accepted mine. I love what I do & I pray you can find a place that you love as well 🙂 don’t lose heart on finding something else! Keep pushing & keep applying ….start w/a med surg floor then go from there 🙂 if your passion is not nursing, do it part time & go fulfill another passion! I’m all about doing what you love! Good luck in the future & maybe we can have that coffee together one day & continue our talk!

     
  2. Carole S

    January 17, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Thank you for the compliment. I am hoping that you’re right and if I keep trying I will eventually find the perfect fit for me in nursing. Right now I’m working on my BSN, and eventually my MSN (if I don’t die of old age before I get to that point).

    I really appreciate your kind words of encouragement. I’m sorry I didn’t respond sooner, but 3 12.5+ hour shifts in three days had me busy working and sleeping – and as we’ve both seen I don’t do so well with the wordsmithing when I’m tired. 😀 Maybe we will, indeed, get that cup of coffee some day.

    Warmest,
    Carole

     
  3. Maggie E

    January 26, 2014 at 11:57 am

    I too am an RN with much respect for our profession. I understand fatigue, long hours, burn out. However there are 2 things I understand even better: Open mouth insert foot “snarky comments” and humility. Thank you both for your asking for and accepting forgiveness, thank you both for realizing you spoke in angst and correcting your blunder so to speak. I am ashamed to admit I have often spoke too quickly and tooo rudely, only to feel the shame afterwards. God Bless us all for being human.

     
  4. jean

    February 4, 2014 at 8:19 pm

    Being an RD for many years, I have had many opportunities afforded to me..from hospital floor nursing to house supervisor. The beauty of nursing for me has been the experience and opportunity for change. But MORE than anything, the ability to offer comfort and therapeutic care for both the terminal patients and those that are suffering with an acute but treatable illness. Several years ago, I found myself getting into a bit of a burn out phase…and then it was as though a bulb switched on inside me and I came to the realization that I am very fortunate! I am able to provide competent and compassionate care and I am fortunate that I am not the one lying in bed requiring the care (and the fear and uncertainty that goes along with being hospitalized).
    So..nursing let us all celebrate our unique contributions in our profession and strive to unite in our common goal: excellent and competent patient care that continues to improve through ongoing research and evidence based practtice!
    And….the health care team works together to meet individual patient needs..from cleaning bottoms and other bodily fluids to running a full code..
    We have MUCH to be thankful for..and I wouldn’t trade being a nurse for anything!

     

Leave a comment